Canterbury DHB


Administrative Arrangements for the Haematology Service

The Haematology Department consists of three components: clinical, laboratory, and research. The Department of Laboratory Haematology is in Pathology Services, and the Department of Clinical Haematology is part of Medical Services. The Haematology/Immunology Research Group is inter-linked with both Departments, plus Immunology. The Consultant Haematologists are Dr Andrew Butler, Dr Peter Ganly, Dr Steve Gibbons, Dr Sean MacPherson, Dr Emma-Jane McDonald, Dr Ruth Spearing, and Dr Mark Smith.

Dr Andrew Butler leads the Transplant Service. Dr Mark Smith is the Clinical Director for the Department of Clinical Haematology and Dr Steve Gibbons is the Medical Director of Laboratory Haematology.

In This Section

Organisation of Laboratory Services

Organisation of Inpatient and Outpatient Services

Hospital/Departmental Meetings

Ancillary Services and Advice for Patients

Cost Implications of Clinical Decisions


Inability to Report for Duty

About this Canterbury DHB document (4614):

Document Owner:

Mark Smith (see Who's Who)

Issue Date:

October 2017

Next Review:

October 2019


Note: Only the electronic version is controlled. Once printed, this is no longer a controlled document. Disclaimer

Topic Code: 4614